For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
AIHR is happy to announce that no less than 24 researchers received a grant from the UvA FGw Aspasia Fund. The majority of the laureates receive a temporary increase of research time to focus on research output such as monographs and articles and/or to prepare and write grant applications to strengthen the research profile. Two laureates have opted for a travel grant and temporary research support.

The laureates are: Marie Lous Baronian (ASCA), Jenny Boulboullé (AHM), Sarah Budasz (ASCA), Idil Galip (ASCA), Ileana Grama (ACLC), Eva Groen-Reijman (ASCA), Marjolein Hogenbirk (AHM), Karolina Krzyzanoswka (ILLC), Tarja Laine (ASCA), Krisztina Lajosi-Moore (AHM), Haitian Ma (ASCA), Andrea Meuzelaar (ASCA), Hanna Muehlenhoff (ARTES), Sudha Rajagopalan (ARTES), Marleen Rensen (ARTES), Irina Souch (ASCA), Hanneke Stuit (ASCA), Beyza Sümer (ACLC), Claske Vos (ARTES), Julienne Weegels (ARTES), Esther Weltevrede (ASCA, Maryn Wilkinson (ASCA), Marissa Willcox (ASCA), and Zamira Xhaferri (ARTES).


The UvA FGw Aspasia Fund was established as an encouragement for women faculty members, to help them prepare to take a next step in their career by strengthening their academic profile. To this aim, it facilitates small grants for lecturers (D), assistant professors (UD) and associate professors (UHD) which can be tailored to individual needs that fit the applicants’ career stage as well as their personal circumstances in terms of, for example, care duties.

The Fund was made available by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) as part of Aspasia grants. A condition of the NWO grant used to be (until 2020) that part of the premium is used for diversity policy measures, which increase the career development of female staff within the institution.